A while ago, Diane asked me to accompany her back to Berch to look for her jacket. Since the COA bulletin board was near Berch’s, we took a look at it first (since Diane was the one who set up the sign-up sheets posted). When she left for B-102 to look for her jacket, I continued checking out the sheet. It’s a sign-up sheet for aspiring EB, cluster heads, and sec-treasurer of COA, I think. As I was browsing through the names and positions the people wanted, I noticed how there was only one aspirant for the ICR cluster (Intercultural Relations Cluster, once again, I think). It made me think.. Should I sign up?

I was a former ASEC member, a current Celadon manager, and I think everyone knows how interested I am in learning about the many different cultures in the world. Then again, I’ve only been a member and manager. I still need more experience if I am to dive into this much responsibility and yet the list was so enticing. Besides, I am already planning to run in the upcoming EB race of Celadon. Speaking of which..

I just submitted my CUP registration form in COA a while ago. I spent around two hours in RSF finishing it, filling up my leadership related experience, achievements, positions. Okay, not because I have a lot to list but because I didn’t know which amongst my volunteering can be considered or categorized under the leadership experience category. I asked for Diane and Isa’s help (thank you, guys!) and despite the help they’ve given me, it still took me an extra hour finishing it because of my lack of words in describing each. It was as if I couldn’t find the right words to describe the position or job I had/was doing. Still, praise God for helping me finish it before the deadline. The only thing left waiting for on this table is whether I get accepted or not. *crosses two fingers* Which brings us back to..

The COA Step Up! (I finally know what it is, haha.) I was just reading their most recent update to find out what they call this event I’ve been talking about — the one with the sign-up sheets. They’re looking for people who want to be part of the COA Central Board next year.

STEP Up! is an understudy program designed for aspiring COA officers who wish to have a better understanding of how COA leads its 47 organizations. Smooth Transition and Empowerment Program (STEP Up!). Sign ups are along EDSA Walk. Sign Ups are up from November 19-28. Hurry and be part of this year’s understudy program! Get to know what the council does FIRST HAND!

Four Main Activities:

1. Recruitment:

a. To have at least 2 strong candidates per position for the STEP Up 0809

b. To properly orient the understudies on COA and the STEP Up 0809

After reading this, I felt even more enticed to try and join. But as I’ve decided a while ago.. If there aren’t additional aspirants for the ICR cluster by Friday, that’s when I’ll sign up.


WOW. I’m actually doing this. I can’t believe I’m actually doing this. Let’s save the reason/s why for another entry, shall we? I think this one’s longer than it should be already. But before I put to bed tonight’s entry, I’ve one last thing to share to cap things off..

My oh-so-smart brother, after shaking the 1.5 L bottle of Coke, opens it all of a sudden and.. Yes, you know what happened next. In trying to avoid bathing in cola, I jumped out of my seat and hit the table accidentally, giving my knee a really bad bruise. Ouch. 😦

So much for my day. I’ll head off to the kitchen and grab myself a quick banana snack again (banana with cream) and some hot tea before heading to bed. Wish me luck!


***
I’m that star up in the sky
I’m that mountain peak up high
Hey, I made it
I’m the world’s greatest
I’m that little bit of hope..
-The World’s Greatest, R. Kelly