My cousin just left with my aunt to grab some ice cream. It’s funny ’cause even if they’re well off, my uncle and aunt has trained my cousin well. She’s spoiled but not in the usual context of spoiled we know. Her allowance is just right, she doesn’t get a new phone every quarter, she commutes. But every now and then, my uncle would give in to her cravings. BK tayo, Inasal, or Dencio’s. She’s spoiled with love, not material possessions. She doesn’t get everything she wants but from time to time, she gets that cookie, chocolate bar, or ice cream, she craves for.

Why am I writing about this? I guess I’m a fan of good families. I don’t really believe fortune tellers but there’s one thing a certain psychic told me, which I am really looking forward to. You will have a good family. Maybe three kids? Okay, maybe three’s too many. But it doesn’t matter. What matters is that I will have a good family in the future. To be perfectly honest, my moving in to the new house soon is adding to my excitement, to my anticipation of having my own family. I miss taking care of my siblings, though I wouldn’t really say it out loud. Our late night drives to the ATM, to the bookstore or to The Fort. As poor as I sometimes get (blame the bookstores, the dermatologist, and the food stores), I miss treating them out. That’s the only time I get to spend with family — whenever I treat them or either one of them to good food, games, or a movie. Maybe that’s why I’m a little to excited to have a family, or at least, someone to take care of again.

Anyway, the ice cream’s here. Time to eat!


***
One step at a time
There’s no need to rush.
-One Step A Time, Jordin Sparks