Why Sir Danny Chan’s LS172 class is my favorite class this semester:
  • he looks really adorable! Like a siopao. 很可爱!
  • he has a lot of fun stories to tell.  Some related to the lecture, some not.
  • he’s actually very nice.  Really nice but still a teacher. (I heard he’s very strict with lates and absences.)
  • heavy workload but you will definitely learn.
  • his class teaches you more than doing business in China.  很多 insights.
Here are some insights from Sir Chan’s class last Thursday:
  • Wan shi bu ke zhang jiu.  (I should’ve copied the characters.  They look better.)
For all things, do not force the issue.  If it’s yours, it’s yours.  If it’s not, let it go.

Sir Chan’s example?  The fourth son of the emperor of China who forced himself to the throne by altering the will.  He got the throne but he didn’t end up being a good emperor.  He soon died.

He gave a more modern version using one of his former students as an example. This girl found out her boyfriend was cheating on her.  She asked Sir Chan what she should do.  Here’s what he said:

Let him go.  If he’s yours, he will come back.  If he doesn’t, good riddance.

Guys do not appreciate what they have ’til they lose it.  She let him go and he went to the other girl.  A year later, he broke it off with the other girl and returned to her.  The student’s next question?  Sir, should I take him back?  Sir Chan’s answer?  Do you still have feelings for him?  

Yes, sir.

Then go.  But..
  • You must be willing to accept him for what he is.  Wag mo isumbat yung nangyari.
  • Make him suffer.

They got married last year.

 
There’s one more interesting thing Sir Chan said but my handwriting is keeping me from sharing it with the world.  Here’s what I was able to
decipher.  

We __ __ __ __ we want something back?  If we lose it, is it the end of the world for you?

And before I forget, nothing is forever.

Quite a lot from a business class, right?  Yep, business class.  I don’t know if that’s just how he teaches, if they’re just coincidences or if this is some sort of guidance for me.  Don’t force things.  If it’s yours, it’s yours.  It’s the same with, if you let it go and it returns.  At that time, I didn’t know what to think. His lesson was what I needed.  I could somehow relate to it.  But as I said, is this some kind of guidance?  I let him go.  Will he come back too, just like this guy? 

I didn’t share the whole story.  The guy cheated because this other girl was spontaneous, exciting, a popcorn (plans just pop out last minute, or out of the blue,) while his girlfriend was very organized, OC, caring (imagine his clothes prepared the day before the meeting.)  I know I’m the organized girl.  The caring, original girl.  The one who would prepare his stuff beforehand.  The one who makes sure he’s got everything he needs.  The nanny, as Sir Chan calls her. Then again, my story might be different.  He might stay with the spontaneous one.  The exciting one.  But still, it’s been two consecutive weeks.  Two consecutive weeks where I’ve heard things as if they were meant for me.  I don’t know anymore!  I’m so confused!  I know these are just words. Coincidences.  But my heart is hoping otherwise.  Deep inside I want to be that girl.  That girl he chooses.  A desire far from happening.  She’s got him all tied up.

All I wanted was for the friendship to be restored just as it was before she came into the picture.  I doubt that’s ever going to happen now.  She’s such a, a. Ugh! I just, I can’t type what I want to say.  She’s just, JUST!  I just wanted to be his best friend again.  I wanted my best friend back.  I want my best friend back.  I want him to talk to me again.  About anything, everything under the sun.  He can talk to me about her, as long as he still talks to me!  We were already doing that.  Talking about each other’s prospects.  But now, everything has changed. He doesn’t even talk to me at all.  Not even a hello.  And that’s what ticks me off the most.

***
There is no excuse my friend
For breaking my heart, breaking my heart again
This is where our journey ends
You’re breaking my heart
Again.
-Breaking My Heart Again, Michael Learns to Rock