Don’t be afraid of letting go.

That’s what the second to the last Simbang Gabi message said. Don’t be afraid of letting go.. I think most of last sem was spent on holding on simply because I was too afraid to let all the good memories go. I was so scared of letting it go, thinking that by doing so, all the good memories I shared with him would go away too. I lost him, and I didn’t want to lose all the memories I had with him too. For three months, I wouldn’t let go. Every tiny detail that would remind me of something wouldn’t go unnoticed. Every date that had been was remembered. Every kulitan spot would always be stared at for a couple of minutes, even if I were only passing by.

Don’t be afraid of letting go.

I’m not anymore. The memories were great and truly unforgettable. But letting go doesn’t mean the memories have to go as well. These memories are now a part of me and even if I do let go now, they won’t be going anywhere else. The only thing that would be going would be the hope of going back to the time when these memories were. And I think that’s the one thing that must surely go now.

There’s nothing wrong with hoping for things to go back to the way they were. But if deep inside you know hoping will remain as what it is, it’s best that you learn to just let it go. Because in hoping for the hopeless, we might just pass by another hopeful waiting to be found. 😉

***
Merry Christmas,
Merry Christmas
To you.
-The Christmas Song, *N Sync